Workspace! Desk Iteration Numero Uno.

Part of my minimizing technique is to make sure everything has a home. If everything has a home, then it avoids clutter creep since I know what materials I have and don’t buy unnecessary things. I kind of cheated, though, with this, by making a home for the things I currently have!

I am making desk storage out of Amazon boxes and various other packages. I don’t like buying storage because I can never justify paying money for something that doesn’t quite work for me (not enough spots, cubbies not the right size, etc). So far: The container on the left is the second one I’ve made today. There is a space above the pink Rifle Paper Co./Birchbox drawers so that I can access a pocket in the back. Secret storage! Currently there’s a couple of Target Dollar Spot Memo Mousepads in there, so it’s something I don’t need to access until I finish my current notepad.

Hiding in the very back! The Q-Tips are there to act as a drawer stop.

I like this box a lot better than the first one, which is on the right, with cereal boxes for drawers. The cereal boxes didn’t quite fit the width so they are shoved in there. When I get more boxes in, I’ll most likely remake it, and then that can all go into recycling. When I really like how I have things set up, I’ll find some pretty paper to wrap everything in.

I really enjoy the workflow of things being vertical, that way things are right at arm’s length and in front of me. If I had planned it out better, all of my watercolor/cardmaking things would be in one tower, and all the leather crafting and other things would be in another in a different tower. Maybe in a far-future iteration! Until then, I’ve got more Amazon boxes coming in, so I just have to be patient. I can’t wait for my big girl cutting mat!

Leave a Reply

